Big decision of state government, inclusion of 32 more castes in EBC

Big decision of state government, inclusion of 32 more castes in EBC

The Bhumihars claim Brahmin status, and are also referred to as Bhumihar Brahmin. In Bihar, they are also known as Babhan and they have also been called Bhuinhar.

The Bhumihars were a prominent land-owning group of eastern India until the 20th century, and controlled some small princely states and zamindari estates in the region. The Bhumihar community played an important role in the peasant movements of India, and was highly influential in politics of Bihar in the 20th century.


The word Bhumihar is of relatively recent origin, first used in the records of United Provinces of Agra and Oudh in 1865. It derives from the word bhoomi ("land"), referring to the caste's landowner status. The term Bhumihar Brahmin was adopted by the community in the late 19th century to emphasise their claim of belonging to the priestly Brahmin class. The alternate name "Babhan" has been described as an apabhramsha for "brahmin".


As with many castes in India, there are numerous myths regarding the origins of the Bhumihar community. One legend claims that their ancestors were Brahmins who were set up to take the place of the Kshatriyas slain by Parashurama but some non-Bhumihars have implied that they are the mixed-race offspring of Brahmin men and Kshatriya women. Other legends state that they are the offspring of a union between Rajput men and Brahmin women, or that they derive from Brahman-Buddhists who lost their high position in Hindu society. The Bhumihars themselves dislike these narratives involving "hybridity" or "fallen status", and claim to be pure Brahmins.

Before Diwali, the state government has made an important decision. The Rupani Government has included more than 32 castes in EBC (Economically Backward Class). This decision has been made by the government's social justice and empowerment department. There are 20 caste of Hindu religion and Muslim religion from 32 castes included in EBC have been included in 12 caste of Muslim religion.

These castes included in EBC - Givalum Brahmin, Mandar, Chandra-Spri-Salval, Rakhi Brahman, Purbia Rajput Kshatriya Kshata, Wavia, Hindu Mehta-Kethwi

Previous Post Next Post